TBIC Mission Statement

A beef community dedicated to growing beef demand by producing and marketing the safest, healthiest, most delicious beef that satisfies the desires of an increasingly global population while responsibly managing our own livestock and natural resources. 

2018 Board Members
TBIC Board of Directors and Staff

Meet the TBIC Board of Directors

Each voting board member is nominated by one of the state’s cattle organizations including; Tennessee Cattlemen’s Association, Tennessee Farm Bureau, Tennessee Livestock Markets Association, Tennessee Beef Cattle Improvement Association, and American Dairy Association of Tennessee. The directors serve a three year term and can serve two consecutive terms for a total of 6 years. Board members rotate on and off each year giving the overall board stability and continuity. The TBIC also has non-voting leadership from the University of Tennessee Extension Service and the Tennessee Department of Agriculture. Several former board members who serve in National leadership positions are ex-officio members as well.


Don Terry – Chairman/Federation Representative - Henderson, TN

Celeste Blackburn – Vice Chairman - Jefferson City, TN

Russ Uselton - Secretary - Shelbyville, TN

Michael Simpson - Treasurer - McMinnville, TN     

Larry Church – Past Chairman/Federation Representative - Mt. Pleasant, TN

Steve Anderson - Gordonsville, TN

Stephanie Barnett - Clarksville, TN

Gary Daniel - Cypress Inn, TN

Michael Harris, DVM - Mt. Juliet, TN           

Will Mayfield - Pulaski, TN

Roger Radel - Sevierville, TN

Terry Snyder - Mountain City, TN


Ed Harlan - TN Department of Agriculture

Dr. Neal Schrick - University of TN, Animal Science Department



Paul Moss - Beef Board Director – Cottage Grove, TN                                

Larry Cunningham – Beef Board Director – Spring City, TN


Meet the TBIC Staff

The TBIC staff is committed to managing Checkoff dollars wisely and directing relevant, informative and cost effective events and activities to inform and educate consumers about the healthful benefits of beef.  Valerie Bass, Executive Director, administers the Beef Checkoff program for Tennessee overseeing finances, marketing plan development & implementation and represents the TBIC on local, state, and national committees.

Valerie Bass

Valerie Bass

Executive Director

Email Valerie

Carlye Cox

Carlye Cox

Receptionist & Office Manager

Email Carlye

Lydia Hancock

Lydia Hancock

Administrative Assistant & Accountant 

Email Lydia

Karman Meyer

Karman Meyer, RD

Director of Communications

Email Karman

Janna Sullivan

Janna Sullivan

Director of Consumer Information

Email Janna


Christina Davis

Director of Industry & Retail Relations

Email Christina

2018 Annual report

View the 2018 Annual Report.